• World Language

     

    The Westerly Public Schools World Language Program will inspire students to welcome the challenge of rigorous study and communicate beyond their native language in a global environment. Teachers will promote linguistic competency and appreciation of cultural diversity .They will establish environments of mutual respect that foster lifelong learning

     

     

     

     

     

    LINK TO SANSSPACE: 

Department Contacts

  • Bellone, Catena

    Email:  cbellone@westerly.k12.ri.us

    Italian and French

    Canty, Wendy

    Email:  wcanty@westerly.k12.ri.us
      French and Spanish

    Crescenzo, Leah

    Email: lcrescenzo@westerly.k12.ri.us

    French

    Fisher, Jaclyn

    Email:  jfisher@westerly.k12.ri.us

    Spanish

    Koulbanis, Ide

    Email:  ikoulbanis@westerly.k12.ri.us

    French and World Cultures

    Magliari, Nancy

    Email:  nmagliari@westerly.k12.ri.us
      Italian and Spanish

    Connell, Caitlin

    Email:  caconnell@westerly.k12.ri.us

    Elementary Spanish (FLES)

    Saint, Eloise

    Email:  esaint@westerly.k12.ri.us
      Spanish

    Sposato, Stephen

    Email:  ssposato@westerly.k12.ri.us
      Italian and Spanish

    Steverman, Sarah, Dept. Chair

    Business:  401-315-1566
    Email:  ssteverman@westerly.k12.ri.us
      Spanish, Department Chair

    Vasquez-Hellner, Dora

    Email:  dvasquez@westerly.k12.ri.us
      Spanish
  • WESTERLY HIGH SCHOOL LANGUAGE LEARNERS SOAR WITH SCORES

     

    In March, 123 students from Westerly High School participated in the level 2, 3 and 4 National Language Exams in Spanish, French and Italian.  This test is given to 6-12th graders in levels 1-6 annually in March and is sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian and French.  Westerly High School teachers administering this year’s test were Ms. Sarah Steverman(Spanish), Mrs. Nancy Magliari(Italian), Mr. Stephen Sposato(Italian) and Mrs. Leah Crescenzo(French).  The Westerly Public Schools K-12 World Languages Dept. is chaired by Ms. Sarah Steverman.

     

    Congratulations to the following 12 students who attained national recognition as Honorable Mentions on this year’s examinations: Marissa Berardo, Maya Champ, Philip Chandy, Mollie Clark, Adam Gomez, Lexi Hetu, Brandon Larosa, Jesus Otero, Elliana Parra, Annaliese Seibel, Patrick Sullivan and Eva Treat.

     

    “Attaining a medal or honorable mention for any student on the National Spanish Examinations is very prestigious,” said Kevin Cessna-Buscemi, National Director of the Exams, “because the exams are the largest of their kind in the United States with over 150,000 students participating in 2018.”

     

    In other achievement news this year Westerly High School had 44 total students take the AP Language and Culture exams with 28 for Spanish, 5 for French and 11 for Italian. The results of these tests become available in mid July.

     

    In addition, Westerly High School is proud to announce that 32 seniors have attained the Rhode Island Seal of Biliteracy.  The Seal of Biliteracy is awarded to seniors who have attained Intermediate Mid proficiency rating for listening, speaking, reading and writing in at least one other language and English. This year we also have our first tri-literate student who achieved the seal for French and Portuguese proficiency. Her study abroad experience in Portugal along with her classroom experience in French prepared her well for this achievement.  


    These students will be honored at Baccalaureate  on Tuesday June 12th. We are truly proud of our students’ accomplishments in the field of language and cultural proficiency!